What Printer For Newbie

General discussion on 3D hardware from beginner to expert.

Moderator: CrazyIvan

madbrit

What Printer For Newbie

Post by madbrit »

I am new to 3d printing but not new to engineering, and use cnc machines a lot, I want to print of some small gears, first what printer would be good, I have about 400 to spend, also what design program would you recommend

Thanks

MaDbrIT

CrazyIvan

Re: What Printer For Newbie

Post by CrazyIvan »

This won't be for everyone, but I thoroughly enjoy my Tina2. Available for around £150 (or less) it's a cheap introductory printer and easy to run. I've produced many real usable parts within a few weeks of owning one.

The main down-sides are:
  • Limited build volume (100x120x100);
  • No bed heater, no heated chamber – so only suitable for PLA filament.
I don't regard these as major issues – large parts can be printed in sections if necessary, and if (say) I needed a part in ABS I can always prototype in PLA and then contract out for the final part.

Even if you did get a printer with a heated bed etc, I strongly recommend starting out with an easy material (ie PLA - which has little to no shrinkage on cooling). ABS, for example, shrinks as it cools, so unless heating is used the workpiece shrinks and distorts while it is being printed! An even shrinkage isn't too much of a problem post-print, but if the existing layers shrink then the next layers to be printed won't line up with them properly.